A Good Photo and a Bad Photo

by alexmasonphotography

We went through how to describe a photo in group today with connotations and denotations. Connotation being what you associate something with so for example a heart would represent love and if you were denoting a photo the picture of the heart would be described as “an organ that pumps blood around the body”. The photo I chose that I like is a photo by Guy Bourdin. When I picked up the book. I had no idea who the photographer was. I opened it up onto this page and noticed how the picture denotes a dark visual of umbrellas creating. The photo is roughly A5 size and is in landscape. Imagine a bunch of black umbrellas in a close compact cluster and only some of the edges lit up, then imagine a profile view of a good looking lady with only her glamourous make-up on her eyes and the bridge of her nose showing. That is what the photo I like denotes.

The book I used was written by Alison Gingeras and can be found on the following link –  http://www.waterstones.com/waterstonesweb/products/alison+gingeras/guy+bourdin/3712824/

When I look at this photo I get a feeling of coldness in terms of temperature and inside. I like the mystery to who the other people with the umbrellas are and why is this particular girl so important? I now know however that this man was a fashion photographer doing work for vogue and mainly photographing female models but even so, his attention to composition and framing is phenomenal as well as his use of light.

Vogue Paris

The photo I chose that I don’t like is one taken by a lady called Robyn Beech. The photo is in neither portrait or landscape and the background looks like it has been made out of tin foil and paint by a three year old. There is some sort of indian theme in a few of her photos like this. the models tend to have lots of jewellery and bangles on their wrists with bright coloured stones in them. It is a very cluttered photo and there is lots going on. I find this frustrating to talk about because of how busy it is. There is such a thing as too much detail, which I think Beeche has demonstrated for us in this photo.

http://robynbeeche.com/home/

