A Persons Presence

by alexmasonphotography

Here are the photos I took for the summer assignment ‘A Persons Presence’. I actually found it emotionally challenging having to have all of these morbid thoughts about people leaving me. I felt like a method actor with a camera in the sense that I really got into the roll of my mother having left me.

Alex

Care

Care

I took this photo because it reminds me of one of the first things I can remember my mother teaching me. I find that it signifies her love and care for me.

Taken For Granted
Taken For Granted

Here is a visual explanation of one of the many ways I took my mother for granted. She would do anything for me.

The Archers

The Archers

A joke I would used to have with my mother would be to call her old for listening to such ‘strange old fashioned’ music and programs. The only light in the situation is beaming out from an old joke in the digital orange panel.

The Organisation

Organised

Another item that was left exactly where she left it before she went out of my life forever/out to the shops to get some bits.

The Fold in the Rug

The Fold in the Rug

This rug is next to the sofa where my mother would do the crossword on and relax and the rug getting folded like this by the accidental scuff of a foot or puppy paw is one of the few things she would get angry at. She likes to be tidy.

The Keys

The Bloody Keys

These keys are something that would have been tossed on the side without much thought. Whilst walking around the house quietly I noticed them and started to think about what all of them do which bought up more thoughts about the effect a loved one leaving you has.

Mug

The Mug

The Paper

The Paper

I darkened the edges draw the viewers attention towards the center of the image and circled the word alone on the crossword because it stuck out for me and had such a bold effect on me. Having lost my Father, I know how alone a felt then, so to even think about losing my Mother brings up uncomfortable feelings for me.

Times Are Cold

Times Are Cold

The feeling of having a close friend or family member leaving you is not a happy one. I imagined my Mother had walked out of my life and this photo expresses the coldness inside me whilst thinking about this. I decided to keep it dark create a feeling of abandonment and loss.

