Topographics

by alexmasonphotography

This portrait is very natural I like the slightly out of context location for the gentle old man to be in, wearing his ‘old man’ style clothes and the modern style shopping centre this was shot in. I decided to put this portrait in black and white and tone it sepia because I love the look that it has in some of Diane Arbus’s work.Here is a picture of a typical working man alongside priory street. I took this because it expresses the humanity in our society, which relates to some of the work of Robert Daisneeau and his photos of day-to-day life I also decided to use strong contrast on the image to create a similar effect to Daisneau’s work. I wanted to transform the stereotypical laddish behavior and image we associate with builders and have just a simple photo without the comments and wolf whistling.This image inspired by Duane Michals is also slightly overwhelming in the sense that there is also a lot going on. The objects in this photo look as if they are morphed together. Again I have gone for the ghostly film noir style shot. I also discovered the comical point, that it looks like there is a squirty bottle of champagne because of the hairdresser and restaurant table being meshed into one.

I realized I kept on noticing reflections more and more and became so much more aware of them. This photo has so much going on it. It has the haunting film noir esc feeling that I have discovered is familiar with Michal’s work. It is somewhat overpowering in the sense that there is lots of detail to take in

I love the shape of this structure and used The Bechers as well as See Edward Weston’s work to inspire me. I took the architectural element from The Bechers but instead of doing a sequence, I went for a theme and instead of doing pictures of the whole of a building I have focused on getting a closer picture to show some of the detail of the structure.

I wanted to get a definitive shadows that Andre Kertesz gets in a lot some of his photography. I have also learnt that his use of shapes is extremely prominent in his work. It is almost unidentifiable as I bus station due to the shadows and lack of people.

I have used Edward Weston as an inspiration. I believe he has a phenomenal use of shadows and light in his landscapes work. I wanted to express this within my city work. I took this photo of a narrow alley with a with a fast shutter speed to create this contrasting effect between the sky and the walls. It looks almost as if you are in a jacket peeping out or looking out of some curtains concerned about what might be on the outside.

I noticed how Martin Parr’s has a retro style and 80’s look and that he often photographs a single object like a cup of tea or a cake he will use minimal detail in his work. I came across this hard hat on the floor and it reminded me of his work. It made me chuckle to myself because it seemed as if a builder had been abducted.I chose to take this picture because it gives you an idea of what is going on near the cathedral. It is informative and I like the idea that it was taken of a medieval pub, which was built long ago, and it shows me that there is new work taking place alongside this ancient building.

