Travel Photographer of the Year – Exhibition

by alexmasonphotography

TPOTY is the photo contest that’s run by photographers for photographers. It’s open to photographers from all countries; amateur or professional, beginner or expert, young or old, we have categories to suit you all! And it’s judged by leading photography experts and offers fantastic prizes from our very supportive sponsors, including travel adventures, photographic equipment and paid commissions (including one for CondĂ© Nast Traveller magazine) and photographic tuition. And 2012 sees the launch of the Cutty Sark Award, an outstanding prize for the overall winner of Travel Photographer of the Year, presented by Cutty Sark Blended Scotch Whisky.”

I was interested to see this exhibition because I am a keen traveller myself and a big fan of documentary and photojournalism. I liked the idea that there aren’t necessarily going to be lots of images exhibited by each photographer because I find it easier to work out which photographers I prefer whilst looking at a condensed few. Over the past couple of years I have started to discover that the photos I am drawn to and take special time to look at in an exhibition are the photos that I wish I had taken, just like the one below from the topic ‘Diary of a Destination’ by Edgard De Bono from Italy.

20120820-121211.jpg

This place is sadly famous for being a place where Americans would ship out slaves. The kids hid behind the bench as if they were scared of the De Bono’s presence. Edgar’s only managed to get 2 or 3 photos. As a photographer, having the rapid response to react to moments like this are what, I think separate the best photographers from the average.

For a video to see a slideshow of the images in the current exhibition CLICK HERE

