Week 1 – Weekly Task

by alexmasonphotography

WEEK 1: THE SELF PORTRAIT

“Pre-visualize and produce a self portrait [using only available light*] unrestricted in theme and technique yet still supplying a message to the viewer. You should spend time first understanding what it is you wish to convey before then looking at the composition and mechanics of the image and finally production.

* While you are required to use only available light you can still shape and adjust this light as you see fit. Street lights, laptops, computers and televisions can all be employed.”

 

The time I feel most at ease from my busy mind is in the countryside. So for this task I feel photographing myself within this environment would be an interesting exercise for me. Self portraiture for many people, including myself, is an uncomfortable practice therefore I am going to film myself in my chosen location and take stills out of the video. This way I will be able to get the most natural shot possible and will have lots to choose from. 

