Creative Workshop 3: Nude and Naked #Picbod 2013

by alexmasonphotography

Building on the session workshops you should explore notions of Nude and Naked through your work. You should make at least one study of yourself and another of someone else. You will need to bring your experiences from task one and two to bear as you explore the dynamics of vulnerability vis a vis yourself, the subject and ultimately the viewer.

You should spend time observing the context for your subject. You should look for and work with the different types of light, tone and colour, both in terms of your location context and the effects they have on your subject and the subsequent photographic artefact.

I shot a lot for this task with a few different ideas. Again I found it difficult to narrow down why I took the photos I did. Like most people doing this task I am not completely comfortable with how I look but wanted to try and be as honest as I felt comfortable. I tried shooting ‘in between moments’ like I have done in previous picbod tasks but it it wasn’t working out for me so I took the more formal take on shooting and things started to flow a lot more naturally from there on.

These are the walls in which I spent most of my childhood, The bedroom I grew up in, the bedroom I grew up in, the bathroom I have used for nearly 20 years of my life. Never once have I just sat down to think about this. I used to sit on the window sill that you can see in the third image when I was a kid and stare out into the depths of the trees and massive skies.

Here are three of myself. More of myself and friend soon.

ImageImageImage

