#Picbod Task 5 – The Empowered Portrait

by alexmasonphotography

“Through the first four workshops you have explored the power relationship between photographer and subject, starting with yourself before looking at someone close to you and a stranger. You should now apply your skills garnered through these and the technical workshops to assist either a stranger or someone you already know* to make their own portrait. 
You should not take charge of the photographic conversation but should empower the ‘subject’ in being able to make their own pre-visualization and chosen representation, a reality. 

*You should not work with someone who has previous photographic experience”

 

For this task I decided to use my friend Jon (another member of my tribe) as the subject. Jon is one of the people I spend the most time with at uni, we gym together, cook together and chill out in the evenings together but I don’t live in the same house as him, I live 30 seconds walk away. Often when I go round to cook with him, he won’t be ready so I will sit and chill in his room whilst he has a shower. I wanted to make what would normally be a natural occurrence an unnatural occurrence by giving Jon the remote control for the camera and asking him to take photos of himself. I came in and out of the room, to let him get on with it and see what images he created. 

Here are two of the results

Image

 

 

Image

