When Bertil Nilsson Joined #Picbod

by alexmasonphotography

I have to say, I think Bertil’s work is faaantastic and I love his collaborative approach to his subjects. He has an edgy flare to his work like no other I have seen and some of his work is almost sculpture like with his use of light and shadow.

We looked at Bertils photo book ‘Undisclosed

Undisclosed: Images of the Contemporary Circus Artist (2011) by Bertil Nilsson

This book is the result of my work with 47 circus artists throughout Europe and North America over the course of 5 years. The black and white images of the performers, all naked, working on their skills in empty training spaces, are accompanied by an essay by photography writer and gallerist Laura Noble and a foreword by acclaimed circus creator Daniele Finzi Pasca.

cover

It was great after Bertil showed us his work for him to have time to speak to the students and I was first on the list. I received some positive feedback on my current project about a bodybuilder and the main thing I took away from the chat was to print more of my work to help to sequence my images. I was telling Bertil how much footage I had to edit for my photofilm and he helped me with getting rid of parts that weren’t too important, like, Ollie (the bodybuilder) talking about his diet for too long or talking about the gym too much. We know that Ollie has an extreme diet and goes to the gym for long hours during the day so lets focus more on what we don’t already know about this individual.

