Rugby Photography Experience

by alexmasonphotography

I decided I would like to do something else I enjoy for some of my experience so contacted a sports photographer I know to ask if I can get some accreditation to take photos at some matches. Luckily I was able to get into several rugby matches and one football match that I wasn’t allowed to take photos at but the experience was good none the less.

I tried to keep my documentary passion in with the image making to try and bring something different and unique to the table.

Here are some of the photos I took at one of the games.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The experience I have gained so far is mainly the idea of pressure and the competitiveness that it takes to be a sports photographer. Although, I wasn’t wiring my photos to the papers, I was surrounded by people that were doing that. As soon as the photographers get a good photo and there is no action happening near their end of the pitch, they will wire it through to the papers and will be up against all the other photographers who are likely to have got almost the exact same shot. It is like a race. It is the same when the game has finished, the photographers are very silent in the press area and will all be taping away on their laptops wiring images.

I now appreciate the skill of being a rugby photographer a bit more. It isn’t just about having all the gear, it is about understanding the game and being able to read into what might happen, it is about knowing your camera settings thoroughly, about learning the tricks of the trade like any other job really.

It was a real gift to be given access to the press areas and have this opportunity and I am hope to get more games out of it in the not to distant future.

A massive thanks to sports photographer Rob Munro for this opportunity.

