#phonar – Tim Hetherington – Soldiers

by alexmasonphotography

I found this video quite hard to watch, it is very ‘real’ and because I am so conditioned and desensitised  to watching this kind of thing in hollywood films I found myself starting to feel shocked and distressed as I came to the realisation that this is real. The echoing voices and the ambient noises of soldiers communicating really help tell the story of how serious this. The way the film is combined with pictures of soldiers asleep gives me the feeling that even when they are sleeping and looking innocent and relaxed, in the back of their minds they are still suffocated by the war. It makes me wonder if this is what the soldiers are dreaming about and the echo’s of the voices adds to this effect.

Screen Shot 2013-11-04 at 11.05.37

The genuine fear in this mans eyes is extremely powerful and gives me feelings of sadness.It makes me wonder about their families and loved ones back home.

“For me, it was the fullest expression of a transmedia project”.

“How do we get audiences to focus on what we are doing?”

I think in this short talk it has really made me question;  Is photographic form enough? I don’t know the answer to this but when thinking about my creative practice, it is important to reflect on what mediums I use and how I choose to tell my stories.

 

