350MC – Our relationship with fear: Sebastien Foucan TED Talk

by alexmasonphotography

Sebastien Foucan is the “founder” of freerunning. As this relates to my project I thought it would be worth a watch. I can’t comprehend what these freerunners do and I know I am not the only one. I would be too worried about hurting myself, what if I slipped and fell backwards onto that metal fence? Whilst speaking with the freerunners from my film, one of them said “Doing a backflip for us is like walking down the stairs is to most people, we don’t even think about it”. This made me wonder how psychological freerunning is, I am pretty sure I am physically capable of doing a flip, I have done them into water before. I guess it just takes a certain mind.

We all have fear, what is our relationship with fear?

“Sometimes fear is justified and sometimes it’s not”

Screen Shot 2013-11-04 at 11.23.20 copy

