350MC – Where I stand and how I feel

by alexmasonphotography

Having looked over various types of appropriation I think I would choose the following Creative Commons license.

Attribution-ShareAlike
CC BY-SA

20140220-114330.jpg

“This license lets others remix, tweak, and build upon your work even for commercial purposes, as long as they credit you and license their new creations under the identical terms. This license is often compared to “copyleft” free and open source software licenses. All new works based on yours will carry the same license, so any derivatives will also allow commercial use. This is the license used by Wikipedia, and is recommended for materials that would benefit from incorporating content from Wikipedia and similarly licensed projects.”

At this point in time and where I stand now I would feel comfortable with people using and building upon my work but I think it is important that it is stated clearly where people have gathered inspiration and materials from, for example if somebody uses some footage from a film I have made.

I would expect them to state which bit of footage and credit me for example
“Shot of backflip against tree taken from Alex Mason’s film Where We Began”

That way people know how to search for that specific shot if they particularly liked it and see how it has developed and been appropriated into somebody else’s work.

I remember Jonathan Worth once talking to me and telling me how he would police the internet to try and work out where is images where and would get aggravated when he would see that somebody has used one of his images on a site or am article. He spoke to a girl and had a ‘bit of a go at her’ for using his images he then came to the realization that if he carried on behaving this way it wasn’t going to get him anywhere because the sharing of his images was getting out of control as well as the rise of the Internet and how rapidly the idea of sharing images was growing. So Jonathan ended up speaking to this girl because she was upset that he was saying she can’t just use his images but said if you out my name under the photo and credit me for the images that would be good. So she did and because he felt bad for having a go at her he sent her some of the original files of the images.

It wasn’t until I did a bit of live music photography myself that I had a similar problem. In first year I photographed Kasabian and Ben Howard. I then processed the images and put them on my blog. I started to get hundreds of views on my blog because of having these icons on there and started to get the idea that people might be stealing my images. So like Jonathan I began to police the internet, scanning over peoples tumblr and flickr accounts and searching the hashtags on Instagram to see if people had shared them through that. I started to ask people to credit me for the images by writing my name but after there are only so many people you can do that to until you start wasting your time.

I then started to think I am fighting a battle I will never win and might as well be flattered that people like my photos and assume the aren’t making any money from them but I do think it is important that people recognize where they are taking things from.

