352MC – Evaluation

by alexmasonphotography

A quality that people admire of mine is that I have an idea and I stick to it and have done this throughout my 3 years at university. Seven months ago I decided to make a film about a freerunner. I am fascinated with how freerunners move and how they push their bodies to the limit and do things that the average joe isn’t capable of. My passion for this niche fascination started when I was watching the Olympic gymnastics at my dad’s house. I couldn’t comprehend how they do what they do. I met Chris Kinally (the freerunner in my film) whilst shooting the behind the scenes for a promo for a clothing company Lift Performance Apparel. I hated not having control over the composition of the main shoot and with this in mind I made a strong effort to get to know Chris in the long day that we shared together because I had a vision of making a film with him. The idea was to break away from the concrete tower blocks and grey urban environments that we associate with freerunning and show people the magic that is revealed when this practice takes place in a rural and forested environment.

A lot of my inspiration for this film came from my own memories and experiences but also from artists such as Bertil Nilsson who expertly photographs movement which relates to my film as well as Laura Hynd, Mickey Smith and Oliver Sharpe who all have a closeness with the outdoors.

Managing the production of the film was a steep learning curve for me and many hurdles were conquered during the process. Being able to apply my skills in communicating and making sure everyone is in the right place at the right time enforced my self-belief that I can succeed in producing as well as managing the logistics of a film. Having been in conversation with various other filmmakers that are making a name for themselves, it informed my practice and has built my confidence when approaching this competitive market. I have been building professional relationships with various production companies across the UK and US by asking for guidance and assistance. I would do this by sending my teaser video to a large number of people. After building rapport with these people I would then ask them a favour which was to borrow a Sony FS 700. I would give the companies the incentive of being credited on my film. People were impressed with the amount of interest and statistics on the teaser video and I heard back from the majority that I pitched to. My drive and perseverance for success assisted the positive outcome of being lent the camera.

I would return home from university on multiple occasions and have to deal with logistical problems such as the unpredictable British weather, Chris’ injuries and the fact that there we could only shoot on Sundays. I believe I have demonstrated a high level of story telling, directing, editing and producing as well as collaborating with my business partner James and a composer for an original soundtrack. This is the first film James and I have collaborated to produce together to fit under our company title ‘AJ Media’. We will utilise this film in our pitches to companies to promote our work in hope for perpetual business.

In eager anticipation for putting myself in a successful position for exiting university I believe I have demonstrated numerous attributes that are needed in order to prosper in this competitive market.

 

 

 

